top of page

She suffered an unimaginable loss. Her journey back from darkness would make her whole again.

Isolated in a small country town, Veronica is already struggling with motherhood, trapped under the yoke of an ordinary life. After her second daughter, Jacqueline is born with severe disabilities, every moment of every day becomes crowded with people and interventions to keep her alive and well. Despite all the intense love and care - and just before her fifth birthday - Jacqueline dies, and Veronica falls into an ocean of grief.

Wishing to never feel the pain of loss again, her grief builds a wall that keeps her emotions safely locked away, until a brave confession offers the first chink of light in that impenetrable barrier. Gradually, aided by friends, mentors, books, and her own cathartic writing, Veronica feels the cold, hard lump of her heart respond. She begins to heal.

Inside this poignant memoir, you’ll travel the ten stages of the Heroine’s Journey and learn how to acquire healing along the way. You'll discover how to find feeling and connection to the person you want, and need to be. Raw journals, tools, and powerful lessons will guide and inspire you to follow your own quest for wholeness—in your own way, at your own pace.

Breathing While Drowning: One Woman’s Quest for Wholeness is a message of courage and hope. If you’re searching for practical advice and you’re ready to be guided through your own ‘ocean of grief’, then you’ll love Veronica Strachan’s sensitively written and uplifting book. Order Breathing While Drowning today and take the first step on your own healing quest.

Now you can also buy The Wholeness Quest Workbook & Journal and be guided through the ten signposts of the Heroine's Journey on your own self-discovery quest. You'll complete thought-provoking exercises and follow inspiring, engaging journal prompts to write yourself a new story and learn to listen to your inner voice – the one telling you to dream more, to do more, and to be more.

"Breathing While Drowning describes the journey of a young couple whose second child is born with a brain injury. It is a story of great heart-break as the family structure their lives around the needs of this high-spirited and beautiful baby girl only to have her pass away just prior to her fifth birthday." - Amazon Review

"This is a story of great love and compassion and I felt honored to witness this journey." - Amazon Review

About The Author

Gary Lonesborough.png

Veronica Strachan is a writer, coach and serial small business entrepreneur. Her dream of a writer's life was interrupted by the realities of life, death and grief.

In 2016 she finally wrote and published her first book - Breathing While Drowning: One Woman's Quest for Wholeness. The book charts her 20- year journey back to life after the death of her 4-year old daughter Jacqueline Bree. She shares her raw journals, tools, inspirations and powerful lessons to help and inspire others to do the same in their own life - in their own way, at their own pace. The lessons she learnt from Jacqueline Bree's life and death, are her touchstone for living a whole, vibrant and remarkable life.

From her early career as a nurse and midwife, through evolutions as a project and change manager, CEO, consultant and coach, Veronica now divides her time between writing and coaching remarkable women leaders who want to make a powerful and compassionate impact on the world. Her writing dreams took another leap in 2019 with the publication of her second book under her pen name V. E. Patton. Ochre Dragon is an Amazon #1 Bestseller and the first volume in her epic fantasy series: The Opal Dreaming Chronicles.

Veronica and her daughter Cassi have teamed up for "The Adventures of Chickabella" "Chickabella and the Rainbow Magic", is the first of three children's picture books in the series and "Chickabella Counts to Ten is the second." Chickabella is dedicated to the memory of her sister, Mary who told the best stories.

Visit to learn more!

Merch page.png
bottom of page