9781760525880.jpg

An unputdownable thriller for fans of Liane Moriarty and Caroline Overington. If you were gripped watching The Cry, you'll be hooked on Six Minutes.




How can a child disappear from under the care of four playgroup mums?

One Thursday morning, Lexie Parker dashes to the shop for biscuits, leaving Bella in the safe care of the other mums in the playgroup.

Six minutes later, Bella is gone.

Police and media descend on the tiny village of Merrigang on the edge of Canberra. Locals unite to search the dense bushland. But as the investigation continues, relationships start to fracture, online hate messages target Lexie, and the community is engulfed by fear.

Is Bella's disappearance connected to the angry protests at Parliament House? What secrets are the parents hiding? And why does a local teacher keep a photo of Bella in his lounge room?

What happened in those six minutes and where is Bella?

The clock is ticking…


This gripping novel will keep you guessing to the very last twist.




'Impossible to put down and full of twists and turns you won't see coming! I loved this fabulous debut novel.' Liane Moriarty, bestselling author of Nine Perfect Strangers


'In a small community where everyone knows everyone else, everybody has secrets. No matter how far you try to outrun your past, even uprooting your life and the lives of your family to the literal other side of the planet, somehow you never escape.' Newtown Review of Books

About The Author

Gary Lonesborough.png

Petronella McGovern's books have been described as domestic noir and psychological suspense. With strong characters and gripping storylines, her novels will keep you reading - and guessing - late into the night. 


Petronella grew up on in a large family on a farm in the Central West region of New South Wales. After travelling and working in Canberra for a number of years, she now lives on Sydney's northern beaches with her husband and their two teenagers. 


Petronella's bestselling debut novel, Six Minutes, was shortlisted for the Australian Crime Writers' Association's Ned Kelly Awards and longlisted for the Australian Independent Bookseller's Indie Book Awards. Her second novel, The Good Teacher, was longlisted for the Davitt Awards. The Liars is her third novel.


Visit www.petronellamcgovern.com.au to learn more!

Logo shield box with words.png